Red Mahakala

Posted: September 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

So let me tell you about this guy.
It is the Red Mahakala.
In 2010 I was in the great NYC and stumbled upon this mask. It was displayed in the window of a great little Tibetan store.
( Mandala Tibetan Store, 17 Saint Marks Place, NY NY. 917-776-2077)
I love Tibetan art work and collect it.
Also I collect masks. Wherever I travel and I can find a cool mask that represents something special I bring it home and hang it in our living room.
In general all the masks I buy are spiritual and offer protection. (You don’t have to believe me, I know they do.)
(The last photo is of some of my Mexican masks.)
The shop is run by Zumi and Karma Lama. Real nice people they explained the symbolism of the mask and the region where it came from.
Maha: Great
Kala: Protector

He also shared some information about the Tibetan colors: red,yellow, blue and green.

We had a great time in NY and if you like Tibetan art stop by Zumi and Karma.

Cheers everyone.

20120922-133859.jpg

20120922-133912.jpg

20120922-133922.jpg

20120922-134135.jpg

Leave a Reply

